Getting to grips with problem lips!

Aesop Rosehip Seed Lip Cream

I’m questing for the ‘ultimate’ in various products, but because there are so many that I love it’s proving to be a tough call! 

I have tried many lip balms – from Carmex to Crème De La Mer, yet I still love the excitement of a new balm and then the trialling and testing.  Due to my lips being so very dry and chapped the effects of balms are always noticeable!

My latest balm-buy is from a brand called Aesop that was established in 1987 in Melbourne.  They too were on a quest, a quest to create a range of the highest quality products for all skin and hair-care.  I love natural-based ingredients and Aesop use a lot that are plant-based with proven efficacy and particularly antioxidants (these are chemicals that neutralise free radicals, which damage the body and skin.  Foods such as blueberries and raspberries are packed with AO’s and a lot of skincare products contain vitamins C and E which fight the battle of premature aging and help with skin healing)

I love the piece from Aesop’s website which says –

We advocate the use of our formulations as part of a balanced life that includes a healthy diet, sensible exercise, a moderate intake of red wine, and a regular dose of stimulating literature. 🙂

Right, back to the product!  I really like this lip balm, initially I didn’t know if I had got value for my money when the 6ml tube arrived but it is jam-packed and after coating my lips in it multiple times a day I haven’t even made a dent in the tube!  It most definitely is worth the money.

When I take the lid off it starts to pour out, not too liquidy though so it doesn’t dribble everywhere!  I cover the end of my fingertip and then apply to my lips, massaging in until it has been absorbed.  It is non-greasy so, unlike some balms, it doesn’t spread over your face.  It has vitamin E included so it helps replenish the lost moisture and hydrates superbly.  As it is formulated for delicate and sensitive skin I haven’t had any sort of bad reaction or additional dryness from using it.  It is also light-weight so it doesn’t feel like it’s claggy and heavy on my skin.  It doesn’t contain silicone or paraffin and it is made with frequent use in mind, which is great for me as I suffer from constant chapped lips, so I apply it regularly.

The product information online says [Aroma: floral]  Which is bang on!  The ingredients are – [Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Ceteareth-20, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Disodium EDTA, Dehydroacetic Acid, Benzalkonium Chloride, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Beta-Carotene, d-Limonene, Linalool, Benzyl Benzoate, Farnesol, Benzyl Salicylate, Geraniol]

The main ingredient that comes through for me is lavender but it isn’t unpleasant or overpowering, in my opinion, it is a delicate fragrance and the smell is soothing and relaxing.  I also love the tangerine peel oil that I can pinpoint as well, it give the balm a slight zesty freshness.  All of the above ingredients make this balm gorgeous and each one is extremely beneficial if you suffer from dry and chapped skin on your lips. 

The info also states [Skin feel: conditioned, softened, hydrated]  This is also exactly what you experience, I’ve been constantly using Aesop Rosehip Seed balm for the last three weeks and I can say that for me this is the exact result!  My lips feel much softer and conditioned, being so dry they aren’t 100% yet but the hydration the balm provides has dramatically improved the state they were in before. 

As soon as I put it on it sinks into my skin, and there is no visible film left and no greasy feeling so I know that my lips have glugged it all up and that the balm is working its magic as I speak.  As it’s instantly absorbed it means that I can put my lip colour on straight away without it going all slippy-slidey.  It provides another hydration barrier, together with the hydration properties in the lip colours that I wear. 

The summer weather (as well as colder weather) has an effect on my condition of my lips, so being able to use this balm as frequently as I need is fab-u-lous darhhhling (to quote the gorgeous Craig Revel-Horwood of Stricly Come Dancing fame).  Being so light-weight it absorbs super quick which means my lips stay protected though-out the seasons.

All in all, this is one of my favourite lip treatments and I recommend it to anyone who, like me, suffers from the curse of the chapped lips.

I can’t wait to discover more from Aesop and see what other delights there are for me to try out!

Leave a Reply

