Weleda Skin Food

As I sat in the hairdressers one afternoon, flicking through the glossy’s waiting for my hair to cook, a small blurb diverted my attention. I admit, anything with the headline ‘highly recommended’ tends to catch my product-junkie eye.

As one of many afflicted with dry skin, the snippet claimed that for many users it starts to ease rough skin after just a few applications. Also adding that Mrs Beckham is a fan and slathers it on each night.

So as soon as I got home I fired up my laptop and purchased a 75ml tube for just under £9. When it arrived a few days later, I glooped a bit out to smell and could tell from the rich, thickness of the cream it was going to last a good while so was well worth the money.

‘Skin Food’ is made with organic sunflower seed oil, extracts of wild pansy, chamomile, calendula and rosemary extract and is fragranced with essential oils including sweet orange and lavandulae. This gives it a nice yet herby type of scent to it. Not unpleasant but it took me a while to get used to the smell. The product itself is of a very thick creamy texture, you don’t need a lot as a little really does go a long way!  I was suffering from awful dry patches on my face which refused to go, so before bed that evening I applied a good two layers of the cream on.

Now, from experience, I can recommend tying your hair back in a band if it is long enough to get stuck to your face. Applying a hefty layer does mean you run the risk of waking up in the morning with a self-made face beard where your hair has splatted itself to where you have put the cream on – in my case, all over. Never a good look! You can, however, use a smaller amount and spend a while getting it really rubbed in so it absorbs.

I can honestly say that I did see overnight results, my skin felt nourished and hydrated. The dry patches had reduced dramatically and after a week’s usage had ease completely. You can also use as a body cream, for dry areas like elbows, knees and heels. I find that it’s really good to use a few days before you exfoliate ready to spray/self-tan.

Weleda Skin Food is great value for money and there’s also a smaller 30ml tube you can buy.

For quick results and soothed, moisture quenched skin I always reach for my trusty tube of ‘Skin Food’.

Click here to see more of the Weleda range.

Leave a Reply

